Book of the Year awards



In 1946 the CBCA established annual book awards to promote children's books of high literary and artistic quality. These awards are now the most influential and highly respected in Australia.


The 2018 Children's Book Council of Australia Shortlist has been released









Here are the Children’s Book Council of Australia Book of the Year award winners for 2017. 






The Book of the Year: Older Readers                                                croc.png

One Would Think the Deep by Claire Zorn


The Book of the Year: Younger Readers

Rockhopping by Trace Balla 


The Book of the Year: Early Childhood

Go Home, Cheeky Animals! by Johanna Bell (illus by Dion Beasley)


The Picture Book of the Year

Home in the Rain by Bob Graham


The Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

Amazing Animals of Australia's National Parks by Gina M. Newton  


Crichton Award

The Patchwork Bike by Van T. Rudd (Text: Maxine Beneba Clarke)


Check out all the shortlisted books and winners here